Daily Archives: September 28, 2009

How Unfortunate – Surly Server – Need New Office Perhaps?

The new server at The Wired Monk is sullen and unfriendly. At first I thought that he didn’t like me, but upon closer observation, I realize he doesn’t like anyone. I think if he cracked a smile, it might be a first for him. I am tempted to take a picture of him, but I won’t – this isn’t about outing a grouch, rather it is about the necessity of finding a new “office” with great coffee, good food and respectful people.
I notice this morning that there aren’t as many customers in here as is the norm. Could it be Mr. Grump has scared them all away?
The problem is, it’s hard to create when the mood is down…I spend lots of money here, too.
My coffee and breakfast have arrived. For a test I looked him right in the eyes and beamed a big thank you…
No response. Maybe he is a zombie?
Back to work…

Leave a comment

Filed under Give Me a Break

Word on the Street, Vancouver a Big Success

I spent the whole day at WOT, Vancouver. I heard Ivan Coyote tell two stories in the way that only she can – poignant, gut-splitting funny and never boring. I listened to some of the kids from the Canadian Book Camp read/recite/rap and was blown away by their talent and passion for the written word. Suite was represented by Colin and Lima and I’m sure we’ll be welcoming some fabulous new writers from the west coast. I had the opportunity to chat with the Canadian Children’s Book Centre’s British Columbia Rep (and got a hard copy of the Best Books For Kids and Teens Mag with Perfect Cut listed) as well as join in the Philosopher’s Cafe with Sam Sullivan.

I started the day with a delicious breakfast with my friends at Medina Cafe and if you haven’t eaten there and live in Vancouver, than you really should. I had this:
Les Boulettes
Soft boiled egg, chickpea salad, baba ganoush, 2 poached eggs, spicy Moroccan meatballs, cilantro, yogurt, cucumber. Grilled Foccacia
OMG, what a great hit of taste and protein first thing in the morning.
I ended the day sipping Pinot Gris with my friend Joy.
One of the reasons I love Sept and Oct so much is WOTS, Writer’s Fest and Film Fest! Not only am I in my element at all three of these events, but I leave each one feeling inspired to keep on creating.
Tonight I am tired, but tomorrow I will awake refreshed and ready to write.

2 Comments

Filed under Stuff to do