Canada’s Seven Wonders: 7+ Reasons to Vote for the Dempster

Seen on the Dempster Highway on Sunday May 27th, 2007 between 11am and 4pm:

    One irritated grizzly bear
    One shy black bear
    One yearling male moose
    One cow (mother moose) and her two calves
    One black fox with a white-tip tail
    Approx. 30 mountain sheep
    Ducks and ptarmigans (sp?)
    One hitch-hiker who clearly has no fear of wildlife
    Two cars, three pick-ups and a grader
    Awesome assortment of flowers
    Tombstone Mountain
    Kilometer 44
    The summer — no sweeter was ever;
    The sunshiny woods all athrill;
    The grayling aleap in the river,
    The bighorn asleep on the hill.
    The strong life that never knows harness;
    The wilds where the caribou call;
    The freshness, the freedom, the farness —
    O God! how I’m stuck on it all.

    -Robert Service (The Spell of the Yukon)

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Canada’s Seven Wonders: 7+ Reasons to Vote for the Dempster

  1. it seems you have fallen in love with the Yukon!! just reading about all your adventures makes me want to see it first hand!!

  2. I’ve been to other places in the north, but none of them have held any appeal for me. Those who know me understand that I like urban and I don’t like snow. Most people are shocked at my reaction to Dawson and the outer environs, but none more than me.

    I brought my own coffee and own aero latte, fearing the worst, but even the coffee has outlived my expectations. Just wish I could get my lips around a really good chai tea latte 😉

  3. Barbara Bell

    You probably already know the story of Chicken, Alaska? The settlers there wanted to name it “Ptarmigan” but didn’t know how to spell the word, so they chose “Chicken” instead… 🙂

  4. LOL.
    Finally, an explanation.

  5. Jim Moran

    Hi! – Enjoying your blog, especially your time in the YT. I haven’t been there in far too long but number the Dempster among my favorite all time travel adventures. I spent a lovely rainy afternoon in the Jack London cabin with Dick North, discussing first Jack London – then, after two hours, I noticed his name tag. I had just read TMTORR on my way down to Dawson from Inuvik and found it riveting, and Dick and I chatted about Albert Johnson for another hour or more. I’d love to get in touch with Dick again via email. If you have his, perhaps you could forward mine? If not, no worry and happy travels to you.

Leave a Reply

