Yukon’s Best Bannock

I know for sure that Frieda, at the Tr’ondek Hwech’in Cultural Center makes the world’s best bannock. Bannock cooked on the barbieShe has given me permission to post the recipe right here on my blog. She says that in order for bannock to taste out of this world, the cook must only think good thoughts while baking. Thanks Frieda!

Did you know? Bannock comes from Scotland and was not a staple food until well after European traders came to Canada.

Bannock Mix (big family size)

6 cups flour (white or whole wheat)
4 tsp baking powder
1.5 Tbsp sugar
1.5 tsp salt
berries of choice (up here we have wild cranberries — mmm)
2 to 3 cups water

Combine flour, baking powder, salt and sugar
Thoroughly mix the dry ingredients; add berries
Start adding water a little at a time and stir to form soft dough
Heat the pan, when oil is hot, drop in spoonfuls of dough
Cook until lightly browned and turn over and brown the other side
(can also be oven baked in a greased pan at 350F about 20 minutes)
Serve with jam and tea and enjoy.

Honestly, I could live on these. Sometimes, if she has enough staff, Frieda will cook up a batch for visitors to the center – one more really good reason to visit. It’s on the waterfront and is currently hosting the Where are the Children Photo exhibit.

11 Comments

Filed under Stuff to do

11 responses to “Yukon’s Best Bannock

  1. Brenda

    Hi,
    yum.. bannock! my grandmother used to make it all the time in Manitoba (they were Scottish/Cree metis) but I’m sure there should be lard or margarine in there somewhere.. not in this recipe… are you sure?
    Brenda

  2. Hi Brenda,
    I checked and the only thing I forgot was the salt: 1.15 tsp. OOPS. Anyway, love to see your grandmother’s recipe. Will you post it here?

  3. many2lines

    In Manitoba Cree bannock…there is no sugar…and there is lard… not oil !

  4. The topic is quite hot in the net right now. What do you pay the most attention to when choosing what to write ?

  5. Yummm! Delicious! I’m going to make this to bring to work on Wednesday! My mom’s use to be similar to this recipe. Yes, do remember to add salt. My mom never added lard or oil, only for frying. She always said if you add oil or lard to the ingredients it makes the bread greasy. So she only used it for frying. Thanks for sharing, I will most certainly use this recipe for Wednesday. I hope you don’t mind that I’ve shared your blog entry on my facebook page. If it’s not okay, I shall be happy to remove it. Thanks xoxo

    Unfortunately one must become my fb friend before one can view my link. =( Thanks, Julie. xoxo

  6. I’m glad you shared the recipe and that you commented, because it reminded me to cook up a batch.
    Julie

  7. hey, I was just looking for a bannock recipe on the internet and was SO happy to find this one because I know and love Frieda – AND her bannock!! I lived up in Dawson for 10 yrs and miss it very much. We are heading up north sask camping and I always take a bulk bannock mix. now I know the proper porportions! thank you.

  8. many2lines

    Manitoba cree bannock doesnt use sugar… also used is lard for baking bannock…oil for frying…sugar is used in sweet bread! bannock.. As taughtto me by my late grandmother Janet. One important thing toremember is….for baked bannock is…do not over knead!

Leave a Reply

