I Always Knew I had Rock Star Potential

When I feel blocked and can’t write, there are several things I will do to overcome this, including exercise, movies, listening to music and browsing book stores. In a previous post, I wrote about my lack of will power in book stores, so a few weeks ago when the weather was shite and I needed something to do, I wandered into my local electronics store. I love everything electronic, from cell phones to computers to flat screens to mp3 players…so this wasn’t much of a stretch for me.

The first thing I saw was a huge stack of boxes with a big sale sign on the top: Only $99.00! Rock Band!
I looked, I looked again and I talked to the sales guy and he told me all about Rock Band and I couldn’t believe there could be anything so amazing that I didn’t own.

I called home from the car and asked James (the 18 year old) to meet me outside “’cause there is something I need you to carry inside.”

His eyes lit up when he saw that big box in the back of the car and within half an hour we were jamming. I like the bass guitar and I’ve given up on the drums — I can’t even pass the tutorial, but I am a great bassist.

What I’ve noticed, is that people under 20 are naturals, those between 20 – 25 are pretty damn good. 25 – 32: still okay, but not amazing and 35 and up — need to practice daily. I guess the ys and pre ys (whatever they are called), who grew up playing video games are at a greater advantage when it come to rock band.

That said, I might be a slow learner, but on the happiness scale, I can’t think of a single person who is more thrilled than I am when on stage and rockin out 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Stuff to do

Leave a Reply

