Calgary: The Great Cowboy Hat Giveaway

I’m having a great time in Calgary. It’s the perfect city to visit before going to the dude ranch next weekend. Yesterday, I divided my time between writing in the James Joyce Pub (great Harp ale) and browsing the cowboy stores along the main walking mall. I found a beautiful cowgirl shirt for Jennifer and a few things for myself as well.

Around noon, I noticed huge line-ups of people snaking down the street and around the block. Of course, curiosity got to me, and I joined the line. It was worth it. Apparently, in preparation for the Stampede on July 3rd (I think), the city of Calgary gives away 15,000 white cowboy hats! “Get your Head in a Hat.” I got mine in one, which I’ve already passed on to a Calgarian who will be at the Rodeo. What a great piece of PR for this city.

The Great Hat Give Away

Last night we ate at Teatros – a sort of Italian fusion place. The tenderloin was melt-in-your-mouth-smokey and delicious, but the veggies were nothing special and there was a breading on the mashed potatoes reminiscent of the bad Brit cooking of my upbringing. It didn’t matter though – the creme caramel more than made up for that.

Got to run – off to the Sea or might that be C Train for more adventures.
Will post photos next week.Downtown Calgary
Wind tunnel solutions Sky Scrapers Before the Hailstorm

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Calgary: The Great Cowboy Hat Giveaway

  1. Julie,

    I just ventured to Calgary last week and discovered its charm and glory. It was a lovely place, far exceeded my expectations (I thought it would be all rodeo no city slickers but there are equal parts). I did nickname it “boob-city”. No need to explain that one. Am I over generalizing, or did you find that too?

    Either way, I’d like to go again and hit the zoo.

    Have an amazing time!
    L.

  2. Rebecca Kaplan

    Hi,

    My name is Rebecca Kaplan, and I’m working on a media list for Random House. It would be really helpful if I had an e-mail address for this blog so I could add you to get mailings from Pantheon/Knopf.

    If you’re interested, please send me a contact e-mail.

    Thanks,
    Rebecca.

  3. shaida karmali

    HELLO FRIENDS,
    MY SISTER AND HER 2 DAUGHTERS ARE VISITING FROM U.K.AND WOULD LIKE THE WHITE COWBOY HATS TO TAKE BACK.COULD YOU TELL WHEN THE NEXT GIVEAWAY IS? AND WHERE.I AM IN N.E.SO IF YOU HAVE THERE OR IF NOT THAN ANYWHERE.THANKS

    REGARDS,
    SHAIDA

Leave a Reply

