Home and Hurting

Warning why not to twitter without follow-up. Last week I twittered something about heading home with broken ribs. Then I said nothing for a week, until a friend emailed me demanding an explanation. Can’t type well at the moment, so I’ve copied and pasted the message I wrote to my suite colleagues this morning. Sorry about not blogging, but you will see why.

Thanks Cindy for reminding me via email to explain my rather cryptic twitter – I wrote it through gritted teeth and pain and promptly forgot about it…

So, here is what happened:

On day two on Prince Edward Island, I was bucked off a horse while galloping along the seashore. You might not know this, but sand is like concrete, except harder. I actually thought the uncaring Atlantic Ocean and a oozy purple jellyfish would be the last things I’d see before I closed my eyes for ever.

Luckily, that was just my over-zealous imagination and I woke up alive. Unluckily, we were two hours away from civilization without a phone and I hurt. Unbeknownst to me, I had broken three ribs and torn most of the cartilage in my right shoulder. I didn’t have any choice but to ride out (this involved crossing a river, climbing sand dunes, riding through mud flats…) and by the end of that, I wished I were dead.

Once back at the barn, it took another hour to get to the hospital and even more time to jump the line and finally get some serious narcotics into my battered body.

We had to stay in PEI for five more days until I was able to fly, so we just got home this Wednesday. Needless to say, I’ve given up on horseback riding and will stick with biking and kayaking, although, I can’t imagine doing anything that involves upper body movement ever, ever again (besides drinking).

Throughout all of this, I’ve edited my first articles…that is dedication is it not?

The doc says I don’t have an addictive personality, so should continue to take percocet liberally for another week. Who am I to argue??

Am back doing a little bit more work every day and thankful for the need to focus on something. I’ve missed my online suite family and it feels great to be communicating with all of you after a week of silence.
Julie

2 Comments

Filed under Give Me a Break

2 responses to “Home and Hurting

  1. David T

    Sorry to hear about your “fall from grace”. Life can sure change in an instant, can’t it? Hope your recovery is coming along well.

  2. thrind

    Hey injury, maybe we can compare notes.

Leave a Reply

