Sometimes I am Ashamed to be a Human Being (But at Least I’m Not Tony Hayward)

Earlier this evening, I was on the treadmill working hard at losing the weight I put on when I fell off that bad pony last summer and broke myself. I had my MP3 on, but a there was a TV right in front of me and the news was on (which at first seemed like a blessing because usually the boys in the gym rule the media and it’s WWF or something equally inane).

Anyway…

I have been avoiding anything about the oil spill and BP – visit their website and you’d think they were environmentalists; they’ve got some awesome designers and content providers who really know how to spin. So, when Exon Valdez happened, I felt pretty sick about that and when the BC Government fought for drilling off Haida Gwaii and we let them I felt we’d lost our way and when the oil spill happened last year at Robson’s Blight it scared me in a way that I didn’t understand. I felt helpless and hopeless.

And yet, we keep hearing that drilling offshore will have a minimal risk for the oceans and in the end for us.

And now this. The BP Oil Spill 2010…do you know how many marine mammals will die because of this? Think about plankton and fish and those beautiful sea birds who don’t know what’s coming their way…

Obama has put a moratorium on off shore drilling.

We should too.
This should not be something we have to think about for more than a nano second.

Back to the news. This is what they said after showing obscene footage of the BP spill as it approached the shores of Louisiana (we are talking about millions of litres of oil and BP will cover that up, I promise you:

How Will Oil Spill Effect the Price of Crude?”

How Serious is this? It Will Take Days for the Markets to Answer This Question.

News Flash for all of you who think this is about cash. Those marine mammals and birds and fish and other ocean dwellers already know how serious this spill is; especially the ones almost dead or the ones choking on the oil slick.

So, when you vote for our next government, think about our Orca Whales and Pacific White Sided Dolphins and sea birds. They can’t. Their lives are in our hands. Too bad for them.

Honestly, there are times when I am ashamed to be a human being.

I Guess I Don't Count

2 Comments

Filed under Give Me a Break, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sometimes I am Ashamed to be a Human Being (But at Least I’m Not Tony Hayward)

  1. Maggie Lesoing

    I can’t quote this for certain, but I believe Obama supports drilling, which is why the spill happened — they were drilling in the gulf of Mexico. I know how helpless it can feel when things like that happen. Let’s hope they figure out how to contain it and require BP to pay for the cleanup.

  2. Julie

    The thing I like about Obama is his ability to recognize a bad decision and do something about it. The US survived Bush and are now finding a new respect in the world, because their new leader is able to do what is right, to reconsider and to not always put money first. For that, we should all be thankful.

Leave a Reply

