Cold Reach by Gary Gillespie – Dyslexia Celebrated

Last night I went to Vancouver’s Waterfront Theatre on Granville Island to see Cold Reach, a comedy/musical put on by the Senior Students at Fraser Academy – a private school for LD (Learning Different) kids. Here is the synopsis:

A group of students who met at a school for dyslexics make a promise that when they graduate, they will support each other in their pursuit of creative fulfillment. Along the way, they discover that in life, it’s not about the part you get but how well you play it. For all of us, life is one big cold read. This honest and witty look at life with a learning difference is presented by actors who face their own unique challenges and hope to open people’s eyes to the myths and ‘mythunderstandings’ about life with dyslexia.

null

Cold Reach a Hit!

This was brilliant – and as a ‘successful dyslexic’ I could so relate to the material. The cast included the incredibly talented Claire Stewart, a teen I have know since she was knee high to a grasshopper, hence my invite. Although I knew about her ability to sing, (We are in Rock Band Together) I had no idea that she and her classmates could pull off such a funny, poignant and gripping play (in the form of linked vignettes). I’d option it if I was of that ilk…)

Stars are Born

And yes! Thank the universe and open source and all computer developers for spell check, otherwise where would we all bee? Here’s to success and Dyslexia all in one sentence and I tip my hat to Fraser Academy.

Fav lines:
“Hi, I’m dyslexic.”
“How do you spell that?”
“I don’t know. I’m dyslexic.”

Fav Song:
A-D-D (What can it be?)

Leave a comment

Filed under Stuff to do

Leave a Reply

