Val David One Week In Residence and Getting Lots Done!

It’s hard to believe that I have been here a week almost — I arrived late last Wednesday and the time is flying by. This morning I woke up to some very welcome rain. Yesterday we could smell the fires, but today’s downpour seems to have taken care of that.

I am a bit frustrated because the ms I was hoping to work on has not arrived and time is flying by. I am dabbling around with some other writing, but my heart is with the book coming out in the fall and it is hard to make the switch to a new novel…

I had some great photos but Iphoto quit in the middle of the download and I lost them all…I hate it when that happens…Finally the black fly bit the size of a small car that I’ve had on my neck all week is going down. I drown myself in bug spray daily and I think the people used to giant bugs find that a bit odd. Oh well. That bite kept me awake one night because I thought maybe une tique had taken up residence in my flesh…ick….

These Wrought Iron Stairs are Very Quebec

I love these stairs…they are on many houses here and lead to the second story. I don’t know why we don’t do this in Vancouver. If we build a lane house, maybe the guys could add some to the design. I plan on sending then a few photos (some of those that I lost today…).

Like everywhere else, not everyone is perfect and today while I was out walking in the village I stopped in to visit a potter’s studio that I’d read about earlier in my visit. She had really nice stuff and I probably would have bought something, but there was a cheeky little dude who was rude to me in both French and English – clearly not pleased with someone not native speaking on his turf. Anyway, I felt discouraged until I stopped in at a little cafe where the woman serving couldn’t have been kinder or more patient with my French. Then I felt better 🙂

I don’t know if I’ll go back to the L’atelier du Potier, but I will look for Marie-Andree Benoit’s work elsewhere in the village. She is very talented and it’s too bad about her little pal. 😦

Luckily, Val David is full of amazing artists. Check out the variety of talent here.
Tomorrow I plan to stop in for a cafe at the Mouton Noir and I think I will not be disappointed!

I know it gets cold here, but it's hot now!

1 Comment

Filed under Travelling In the World

One response to “Val David One Week In Residence and Getting Lots Done!

  1. Went to the Mouton Noir this afternoon and loved it! Great artistic atmosphere and beer on tap! Found my spot to write when I need a change of scene!

Leave a Reply

