The Beach, Salt Water, Good Friend: What’s It All Got to do with Writing?

It’s sultry hot in Vancouver on these long, hazy summer days – hard to be inside working, writing, cooking, moving through the days as if this wonderful summer heat were here forever.

Today, I got up early so I could all my work done by 1:30 because at 1:30 I’d arranged to meet my friend from Toronto at Jericho Beach – a short and quick 30 blocks downhill for me and a long, hot 30 blocks uphill on the way home.

I met Martha Eleen when I was the writer in residence in Dawson City and we became friends at first sight. It was Martha who taught me to see a thousand shades of blue and green, and I probably taught her something as well.

Once or twice a year, we get together somewhere in Canada – last time it was on a rooftop on the corner of Richmond and Spadina in Toronto – this time the beach here in Van. We talked and swam and ate candy and cherries and later had a few beer and talked more. All that time, I thought about next week – my fav week of the summer – the Canadian Children’s Book Camp at the VPL and I came up with a thousand different ideas that I am very excited about.

There’s something about leaving the computer and heading to the beach, salt water and a good friend that gets the ideas flowing! Sometimes accessing creativity is simply a matter doing something that is enjoyable and engages all the senses.

That’s what I think!

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing Tips

Leave a Reply

