Labour Day Already and Time for a New Season

So Labour day has arrived and I celebrated our lovely rain by going to a matinée: The Joan River’s Story and I laughed out loud the whole way through.

I’ve almost got over not getting my Panda job, and I am almost completely ready for my daughter’s wedding. I’ve even found mascara that won’t run when I ball my eyes out when she walks down the aisle. I love the new son, but my baby is getting married. I thought I would rush back to FB, but have not missed it at all, instead taken the time to connect with friends in the old school way and it’s fun to meet in bars, on beaches, at movies. Wow! who would have thought?

What Else?

I like my iphone 4, but not too much and I discovered quinoa, which goes well with our sockeye, which I pray DFO will protect and not over-fish. Let them spawn – you need them to survive to lay eggs.

I had such a great time during my week at Canadian Children’s Writer’s Camp. I left a bit of my heart in Quebec, where I know I will return again and again.

I’ve signed a contract with Mckellar and Martin, (find me on their website) and I’m really excited about my new book, coming this Spring to a bookstore near you.

I can sense that wonderful creeping creativity returning after the lull between books and although I’m not sure what I am going to do with it yet, I am prepared to be happily surprised. This feeling is something most writers will be familiar with – it’s a need to go to movies, go to readings, never leave the house without a pencil and a book and spend lots of time alone thinking.

To the outside world it looks like a time waster – head in the clouds, day dreaming, listening to music…but in truth it’s an opening to creativity, a willingness to accept ideas and develop them. It’s a very exciting feeling and it’s a relief too, because I always ask myself, where will the next idea come from? Will there be a next idea?

Over time, I’ve learned to take this time slowly and to appreciate it as a gift. It feels like a period of grace and I am so grateful to experience it every time it occurs.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing Tips

Leave a Reply

