Summer Writing Retreat Canada: St. Peter’s Abbey, Saskatchewan

Every year or so, I have been lucky enough to be accepted at different writer’s retreats in places as far away as Iceland, or as enchanting as the Yukon and this July I am off to St. Peter’s Abbey in glorious Saskatchewan, a province I have visited in the past and fallen in love with, for it’s magical skies and awe-dropping sunsets and the people are pretty great too.

Thanks to the Saskatchewan Writer’s Guild, of which I am a member, as well as CARFAC Saskatchewan with funding from Saskatchewan Lotteries, SaskCulture and the Saskatchewan Arts Board, I will be able to spend two weeks at this lovely Benedictine Monastery in Muenster, just ninety kilometres east of Saskatoon near Humboldt.

In my experience, being provided with a quiet, tranquil and peaceful setting, absent of everyday distractions is the most ideal way to get the creative juices flowing and I am very thankful for this opportunity. While there, I will be working on a new novel – the ideas are formed and the characters are already in my head, so, with a little time to think and write, I should be able to get the bones of the story down.

I leave next Thursday and will be gone two weeks and hope to blog about this experience.

There is something magical about stepping out of the chaos of everyday life!

Leave a comment

Filed under Travelling In the World

Leave a Reply

