Governor General Literary Awards Finalists Announced Today

Today the Canada Council for the Arts released the list of finalist for the GG Awards. I’ve copied the English Fiction list here but interested readers can get the full list the Canada Council Website.

My son gave me a Kindle Reader, just because he is such a great kid, and I think I will download a few of these titles to try it out. At first I was a little wary of the whole idea of reading on an e-reader, but my little den is overflowing with books, so I am looking at the reader as a space-saving device. So far, I have downloaded only one very small book, one I am using for research for the novel I am working on. I like that the reader is so light – easy to stick into my purse and carry with me wherever I go. It has a very long battery life, so, unlike my IPhone, I don’t have to remember to plug it in every night. I really like the search function, and the quick access to a dictionary. I think I am converted, although I still love traditional books and will continue to buy the ones I plan on keeping.

Our next book club book is The Tiger: A True Story of Vengeance and Survival, by John Vaillant and I’ve got the hardcover edition because I’ve enjoyed and wanted to keep his other books. It costs more, almost double to buy a traditional book, but sometimes it’s worth it!

GG Fiction List:

David Bezmozgis, Toronto, The Free World
(HarperCollins Publishers; distributed by HarperCollins Canada)
(ISBN 978-1-44340-399-3)

Patrick deWitt, Portland (Oregon) [originally from Vancouver Island], The Sisters Brothers
(House of Anansi Press; distributed by HarperCollins Canada)
(ISBN 978-0-88784-289-4)

Esi Edugyan, Victoria (British Columbia), Half-Blood Blues: A Novel
(Thomas Allen Publishers; distributed by Thomas Allen & Son)
(ISBN 978-0-88762-741-5)

Marina Endicott, Edmonton (Alberta), The Little Shadows
(Doubleday Canada; distributed by Random House of Canada)
(ISBN 978-0-385-66891-0)

Alexi Zentner, Ithaca (New York) [originally from Kitchener, Ontario], Touch
(Alfred A. Knopf Canada; distributed by Random House of Canada)
(ISBN 978-0-307-39944-1)

Leave a comment

Filed under Events and Readings, What I'm Reading

Leave a Reply

