Book Warehouse Closing after 32 Years in Vancouver :(

I was sorry this morning to get a message in my inbox informing me that Book Warehouse is closing – another bookseller unable to thrive in Vancouver.

I have a special place in my heart for Book Warehouse, as I worked in the Tenth Avenue store for a couple of years. The pay was pretty bad, but it was a wonderful place for a writer to spend eight hours a day. By the end of most pay periods, I owed the store money for all the books I bought, so I look at that time as working to read, as opposed to working to eat!

The Book Warehouse on Tenth Avenue, where I worked, had a very community feel about it. People usually arrived on foot, perhaps after a meal to browse the many books and magazines. We welcomed dogs and kept a bag of dog treats behind the counter for our four-legged, book loving friends. We knew everyone’s name – human and canine.

Everyone I worked with shared in common a love of books and literature. We loved nothing better than to read the latest arrivals, write reviews and talk to customers about our thoughts and opinions on whether a book was worth the purchase price or not.

Sometimes harried parents would leave their little ones in the kid’s books section while they did errands, or elderly people would pull up a chair and read for hours, happy for the company and warmth of the store.

We played music to read by, encouraging people to feel comfortable and welcomed. That is the beauty of a bookstore. Sure, ordering online is so convenient and ereaders ensure a thousand books in our hands, but the thing they can’t give us is the human F2F interaction, the opinions, the atmosphere and sense of belonging to a community.

Those are the things that I will miss about Book Warehouse and all of the other bookstores that have closed over the years.

Below is the email I received in my inbox: 50% off everything!

Thank you to all our customers and staff for 32 great years of books and friendship.

For many years we’ve had a fantastic time bookselling. We’re leaving with no regrets

and many, many happy memories of customers, books and colleagues.

Our closing sale will go on for several weeks as we empty our warehouse,

so please check back for more great bargains!

book warehouse | 632 West Broadway | Vancouver | BC | V5Z 1G1 | Canada

2 Comments

Filed under Give Me a Break

2 responses to “Book Warehouse Closing after 32 Years in Vancouver :(

  1. I almost never leave a response, however i did a
    few searching and wound up here Book Warehouse Closing after 32 Years
    in Vancouver 😦 | Julie Burtinshaw. And I
    do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Is it only me or does it appear like some of these remarks look like they are written by brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are writing at additional sites, I’d like to keep up with everything new you have to post.
    Would you make a list of all of your public sites like
    your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  2. Hi, a quick google search of me and you’ll have it all! Thanks for the post!
    Julie

Leave a Reply

