UBC Creative Writing Locution Night – A Perfect Literary Evening

This evening I participated in UBC’s MFA first locution of the year at the Cottage Bistro on Main Street.

Locution, if you are curious (as I was) is:

1. A particular word, phrase, or expression, especially one that is used by a particular person or group.

2. Style of speaking; phraseology.
(Free Online Dictionary)

Besides myself, three talented upcoming writers/poets read: Jen Neale, Esther McPhee, and Nadine Bachan. I’m always in awe of the talent that comes out of UBC’s creative writing program. I saw some of that talent and creativity tonight.  It was a wonderful evening.

I had the opportunity to read from a book I’ve been working on for quite a while. I’m always a bit nervous when reading from a first or second draft, but I find that by hearing the words spoken aloud, I can better understand what works and what doesn’t. And to be offered the chance to do this in front of a room full of fellow writers was such a gift!

Thank you UBC for inviting me. And thank you for introducing me to a great little Bistro full of words and music.

Leave a comment

Filed under Events and Readings, Stuff to do

Leave a Reply

