Sleeping Beauty!

I blinked and suddenly it was 2015, actually August 2015. I can procrastinate and find reasons why not to write with such skill that I must actually be a ‘real’ writer 😉

Wow. I blinked and it’s 2015!

Today I am sitting in the library at SFU getting ready to talk to the SFU Publishing Workshop (2015) on the joys and pitfalls of being a writer. This has given me plenty of time in the last week to reflect and think about what those are. I’ve asked myself if it’s worth it in this changing world of publishing. I’ve asked myself it I want to continue writing and in that question I found my answer.

Just the thought of putting down my pen makes me nauseous. Not writing is not a choice. So I will keep on showing up at the page every day and sending out queries and manuscripts and waiting up to a year for replies. There will be glimmers of hope and possibility and disappointments. There will be days spent in the wonderful downtown Vancouver library buried in research papers and books and photos and there will be days when all I do is delete the work from the day before. Days when I’m brilliant and days when I’m thick as a plank.

I am so addicted to this pleasure and pain cycle that I could never give it up. I love what I do, even in the midst of hating it! I can’t wait for my next ms to be accepted so I can get going on another one. Optimism and tenacity is integral to success as an author.

That’s what I’m going to talk about today to the students at SFU and I hope that by listening to what I say, they will realize their value and power and worth as future editors. I hope they will understand the importance of their wisdom and support to writers, even in this new age of do-it-yourself publishing.

Thanks to all of the good editors I’ve had over the years. I appreciate you more than you’ll ever know.

Julie

Writers have to put on a brave face and keep on showing up at the page.

Writers have to put on a brave face and keep on showing up at the page.

Leave a comment

Filed under Events and Readings, Writing Tips

Leave a Reply

